Creative Quilling Forum

Do I really need a quilling tool?

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Do I really need a quilling tool?

Post by Quippen on 2012-06-06, 23:34

Since I'm new to quilling, I have been using a small plastic rod (the size of the plastic inside a ballpoint pen). While it does work, I find it hard to start the rolls, or keep it tight. I have heard however that quilling tools leave the bent paper on the inside of the coil.
What is the better method? Is a quilling tool necessary? Thank you so much!

Quippen

Back to top Go down

Re: Do I really need a quilling tool?

Post by Quill Me on 2012-06-07, 02:33

Quippen,
many quillers use their fingers only for quilling. I myself, prefer a needle tool as it only make a small hole in the centre.
Some people prefer a slotted tool.
So it is really up to you as to what you feel comfortable with.

Quill Me

http://quillme.blogspot.com/

Back to top Go down

Post by KrazeeLdy on 2012-06-07, 03:46

Welcome Quippen.... Wink
I use the "ultra thin slotted tool", I bought it on ebay.
It leaves a little hole with a tiny bend. A lot of people just use the needle tool, like Bronwyn. But I've heard a lot of people use a toothpick..? I think that would leave a big hole too.
And as Bronwyn said...you have to experiment and find something that you feel comfortable with. Very Happy Good Luck! Very Happy

KrazeeLdy

Back to top Go down

Post by toye on 2012-06-07, 18:26