Creative Quilling Forum

MEMBER OF THE MONTH AUGUST - Belinda

View previous topic View next topic Go down

MEMBER OF THE MONTH AUGUST - Belinda

Post by admin on 2010-07-29, 08:15

Hi All,
This months member of the month is Belinda aka bzb
Can you tell us about you and your family

I am married to a most wonderful loving man, who is very supportive of my crafts! I have 3 fantastic children (2 years- Danael, 4 years - Rachael and 9 years - Nathanael) who really enjoy crafting as well. We live in Townsville, which is about 4 hours drive south of Cairns, the weather is always warm but gets quite hot and humid in summer. We live on the outskirts of town, quite a way from most places, but it is peaceful.
I work 3 days a week as a social worker and travel quite often with my job which can be both fun and tiring and not always great for taking quilling projects with me!

Have you always been a crafty person? if so what sorts

I think so. I started drawing when I was in high school, with pastels, pencil and charcoal being my favourites - usually drawing flowers. I also enjoyed silk screening and silk painting. I used to do many craft activities when I was a teenager, often staying up all night friday and saturday nights making gifts for people, like decorated baskets, shoe boxes turned into trinket boxes, photo frames, albums. I also enjoy crocheting. I also sew in my free time, which I enjoy as well, as I make my own patterns. So my children have had some pretty interesting outfits at times! Occaisionally I do some scrap booking, but I don't find that I can work out layouts as easily as I can design cards. I enjoy card making the most, and 3D quilling. I have an obsession with paper which has taken over my house, but my children get a real thrill when I pull some of my older papers out and we create scrapbook pages and cards and other art (like christmas decorations) together. I think my dream job would be an interior designer or graphic artist.