Creative Quilling Forum

MEMBER OF THE MONTH ~ September

View previous topic View next topic Go down

MEMBER OF THE MONTH ~ September

Post by admin on 2010-09-03, 06:34

Hi All,
Can't believe another month is over and here we are again. Before we know it, we will be into another year!!
This Months member of the month is Heather. Please tell us about yourself Heather.....

Hi Everyone,

I currently live in a small city in Ontario Canada where there isn't even a scrapbooking store or a store that sells quilling supplies. I travel 30-45 minutes to get to my favourite craft stores. The scrapbook store in my city was only open for a couple of years before it went bankrupt but I used to teach different techniques there including basic quilling. Now, I have been asked to teach quilling at the other scrapbooking stores.

My family is small. I just have a husband and a twin sister, two dogs and a cat. I worked as a Neonatal Intensive Care Nurse full time for 32 years in a large city until I was sidelined by Inflammatory Breast Cancer 10 years ago. Unfortunately side effects from the treatment and the disease prevent me from carrying on with nursing but I am my oncologists longest survivor of IBC and I have no evidence of the disease now, so I really can't complain. Instead I now have more time to expand my crafting hobbies. I find quilling is a great way to relax.

I have always done some type of craft. My Mom was an occupational therapist and an artist and my Dad liked woodworking. As we grew up, we were introduced to many different arts and crafts and we started teaching crafts at a Boy's and Girls club once we were 14. Ceramics is about the only craft I can think of that I haven't dabbled in.